A Sim-ulating History

While doing some reading for class I stumbled upon this article from Ted Friedman’s book Electric Dreams. It particularly sparked my interest since the latest Sims installment, Sims 4, was released at the beginning of this month. It’s interesting to look back on the rise of the simulation game, particularly, and video games, in general, through Friedman’s lense.

Sims through the years c/o Luke Productions

I must admit though, between the required readings I am trying to make my way through and the short bouts of Sims 4 I’ve been playing, I haven’t been able to make it through Friedman’s entire chapter. I thought, however, that other gaming fans might enjoy having a read. The entire chapter has been published by Friedman on his own WordPress site and is linked below. Enjoy!

The Simulation Game.

Bonus: Here’s an episode of Stark Talk with Neil deGrasse Tyson where he interviews the Sims creator, Will Wheaton.

Leave a Reply

